Be An Example

23 Jan

Back in December, my son was making an ipu in his class. An ipu has a variety of uses in old Hawai’i, but for my son’s class, it will be used as a hawaiian instrument. After they cleaned their gourds on the beach with sand, they cut them open and cleaned them out.Then, they made cording to use as a strap (pretend not to notice the nails that need to be cut and cleaned).While my son’s class was working on this, I was moving from in and out of the classroom depending on the “station” that I needed to be at. My two youngest were moving with me. Without any instruction, my daughter sat down, grabbed a piece of my son’s cording and attempted to make her own.This was a powerful reminder for me about how we teach our children. It really doesn’t matter what we say. At the end of the day, how they really learn is by watching what we do.

And with that, check back tomorrow…I can’t wait to share a few posts relating to this fabulous event we had this past Friday!

2 Responses to “Be An Example”

  1. sharearead.wordpress.com January 31, 2012 at 2:43 PM #

    She doesn’t miss a thing. Love the concentration on both kids.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Jewelry Party Before the Wedding « - January 27, 2012

    […] a few days ago, I mentioned a fabulous event at the bottom of this post.  The event I was referring to is my brother’s wedding.  It was full of fabulousness and […]

Leave a Reply

