Archive | 11:03 PM

Gifts I Made This Past Christmas: Wooden Toy Airplane

12 Jan

My son asked for a wooden airplane.  I imagined a simple, sturdy, old style airplane. One that my grandpa Jesse might have made if he were alive.  Something like this:But then my wonderful hubby intervened made some suggestions and this is what we ended up with.I cut out all of the wood on my “I can’t believe it’s still alive” table saw.  The “safety” key does nothing.  The only way to start it up is to plug it in.  The only way to turn off the blade is to un-plug it.  Anyway, I was impressed with the tiny pieces I was able to cut without losing my finger.  All of the pieces were scraps I had lying around.He is happy and it was handmade with love, so even though it wasn’t the airplane I imagined, he loved it.It’s still lacking a paint job.  We just primed it so that he could decide how he wanted it painted.

