Gifts I Made This Past Christmas: Toddler Backpack

6 Jan

Here, another pattern I bought a LONG time ago, but never made.  Finally, I had a need!  With so many people in our family, we pick names for Christmas.  I was so excited that I got a little girl!  My niece who is almost two.  So, I put that great pattern to use.  Thanks to Pinterest, I made the applique piece based off of an item that her Mommy pinned.  Here’s backpack number one.And for the back…Being the non-tv family that we’ve been for seven years now, Netflix has really compromised the rules in our home.  It’s been pretty bad.  My youngest has become obsessed with Dora the Explorer.  I hate to admit it, but if it wasn’t for Dora and Netflix, I wouldn’t have finished most of my projects this past Christmas.

With the exception of the gift from Santa, I decided to go hand-made on my gifts to the kids this year.  Partly for fun and partly to save money.  It was lots of fun.  I think it will be a tradition.

Since we now have a Dora obsession in our home, it was almost too perfect that Dora’s main accessory is, “Backpack! Backpack!”  So, My youngest got “Backpack!” for Christmas.  Thankfully, she loves it at least as much as I’d hoped.  She takes it everywhere and even woke up two mornings shouting, “Where’s Backpack?!”  Here’s Backpack! (You have to use “!” because my sister-in-law pointed out to me that Dora “yells at you.”  I can’t listen to Dora anymore without feeling like she’s yelling at me.)I have to say, it was maybe the most fun project that I did.  And since it was my second run on this pattern in a week, it went really quickly.  Thank goodness because I finished it at about 3am on 12/25!  (Later I’ll post what I was doing from 3am to 4am).   I found the best face for Backpack that I could off of an image search and just used my light table to create the applique pieces.Did I mention that I absolutely loved this pattern?  It was the first time I’ve ever used piping and now I want to put it on everything!!  I purchased this pattern from Made-by-Rae.  Click HERE for a link to her pattern.  She also created the free pattern to the purse I talked about in this post.

***Note about the pattern: It calls for canvas or a sturdy home decor fabric.  I ended up using cotton, so I actually lined everything because I wanted it to be sturdy.  I had a layer of fusible fleece and fusible webbing on the back of the fleece to attach the front and back piece.  I do NOT recommend doing it this way if you can help it.  It’s a LOT more work.  But, if you have to make a purple backpack, sometimes you have to go standard cotton!

6 Responses to “Gifts I Made This Past Christmas: Toddler Backpack”

  1. Rae January 7, 2012 at 5:00 AM #

    SO CUTE! I love the idea of making Dora’s backpack – what a GREAT idea!!! Thanks for the great review. Isn’t piping totally addicting??? 😛

  2. beth January 7, 2012 at 7:51 AM #

    allyson is obsessed w/ dora too. & having a dvd player in the car for long trips makes her dad insane from all the “yelling.”

  3. kail-lan January 7, 2012 at 5:47 PM #

    I can’t wait for mine..I mean Hali`a’s

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feeling the LOVE « elineuponline.com - February 14, 2012

    […] the girls, I used leftover fabric from their Christmas blankets.  I never posted it in my “Gifts I Made This Past Christmas” posts, but here it is.Believe it or not, it’s exactly what she had on her Christmas […]

Leave a Reply

