Hello GOALS 2012

2 Jan

Wow!  It’s been two months!!!The only reason that I have for not blogging is simply that I didn’t have time.  As much as I love blogging for me, it’s just not high on the priority list of things that I HAVE TO get done.  So, it took the back seat during all the Christmas programs and school activities, crafts that had to be made, gifts that needed to be sewn and parties that needed to be attended to.  I have so many things I want to blog about (coming in the next few posts), but for now, we’ll start off the year with goals.For Family Home Evening tonight, we set our goals for 2012.  If I’ve learned anything about goal setting, it’s that they are no good without a plan.  So, as we set our goals, we also made our plan (download at the bottom).  And new this year, I added a “check-in” date.  That’s a date that we put on the calendar to see how we’re doing.  If we’re doing great or we’ve mastered a goal, that would be a good time to set a new goal.  If our action plan isn’t working out, adjustments can be made at that time.  I think this new “check-in” date will be good for incentivizing us too.  The kids had a great time as we put each person’s date on the calendar.  They were different for different events.

Each person had a spiritual goal and two personal goals.  I have a few more than that floating around in my head, but for the family, this was a good amount.  For my spiritual goal, I will be following along with my Sunday School lessons and my Relief Society lessons on my own.  I teach nursery (18 months to 3 years) during these lessons, so I do not get to attend.  For my action plan, I will study one lesson book from Sunday to Tuesday and the other from Wednesday to Friday.My personal goal #1 is to flatten that belly!  For January, I’ll be doing CrossFit twice a week.  February will be three times a week and in March I’ll jump to five days a week.  March 31st is my check-in date.  The hubby is a certified CrossFit guy, so I highly doubt I’ll miss my mark on this one.  He’s kind of pushy encouraging when it comes to working out.

Personal goal #2 is to BE BETTER.  This includes being more organized, talking kinder, yelling less, etc.  I was inspired by this church message.  A lot of being better for me requires more sleep and more organization.  So, for 2012, it’s to bed by 12 (I know this is really late for some people, but it would be a dramatic improvement for me!) and shower by 10.  It seems like when I shower earlier, I go to bed earlier.  Then, I will operate with an organizational plan for the kids which includes some new responsibilities for them and less for me.  I will also operate with a monthly plan, broken down to a weekly and daily “to do” list.  I’ve done this before and it works beautifully.  I just need to stick to it this time.

The kids came up with some great stuff. (The yellow just hides his sister’s name 😉Some of it will really challenge them, but it’s totally do-able.  My five year old wants to be obedient!  I was so happy!!!  His action plan consists of picking up his dirty laundry, taking his dishes to the sink without being told, and always FLUSHING THE TOILET!!!  My daughter who will be baptized in April wants to read the Book of Mormon from cover to cover before her baptism.  She has a chart that she will follow to keep her on track.  My oldest boy wants to be the best basketball player he can be.  He and my husband came up with his action plan.  It makes little sense to me, but they seem to get it.  I love how enthusiastic everyone was.  Now we just need to stick to the plan.

So, there it is.  I blogged about it, so now it’s “in writing.”

You can download a goal setting forms below.

goal setting form as pdf 2012

goal setting form as excel spread sheet 2012

4 Responses to “Hello GOALS 2012”

  1. idaho spud January 3, 2012 at 10:38 PM #

    This is awesome Em!

    • elineuponline.com January 4, 2012 at 11:10 PM #

      Thanks girl! So far, I’m keeping to it…two days into it ;0

  2. marsgyrl February 10, 2013 at 4:32 PM #

    Thanks so much for the goal sheets…they are the best I can find on line to use with my teenagers. In fact I had one before and needed another copy and I was looking everywhere trying to find your page to get it!

Leave a Reply

