Birthday Stockings for Christmas

29 Oct

Back in 2010, my sister asked me to make her Christmas stockings for her birthday.  In April of 2010, I said, “of course!”  After all, Christmas was a very long time away.  I ought to be able to fit it into even a very busy schedule.  Well, a very not-fun pregnancy, a house flood, a major remodel and lots of other fun stuff later, she is finally getting them in time for Christmas 2011.  This is the sister with the daughter who received the “Two Year Quilt,” I posted about here.  So, at least she kind of knows how I work.  She did get a bonus though since I took so long.  Had I done it back in 2010, I would have only sewn four stockings.I loosely used the pattern, “Merry” by Camille Roskelley of Thimble Blossoms.  I bought the pattern last year HOPING, but KNOWING I probably wouldn’t get around to it considering I wasn’t even living in my home last Christmas.  I LOVE this pattern.  I’m a pretty good rule follower, but not so good about following instructions.  (This makes perfect sense to me by the way.)  I usually get the gist and think I have a more efficient way of doing it.  I didn’t even read through the whole pattern.  I did though, use the template…which is really what it’s all about.  When I make my family stockings (soon I hope), I will follow the pattern carefully as I will be doing the other designs.

I quilted each one differently.  This one is just a simple meandering.I was really nervous about the stripes on these next two, but I ended up loving it.  It’s the first time I’ve ever quilted lines because I always thought it would be boring.  I will definitely be doing this more often.I did loops here. And finally swirly circles here.  Don’t look too close.  I just quilted it with the batting on the back and it causes a bit too much friction against the machine.My sister chose this uber fabulous Riley Blake Christmas fabric.  I love it. I’m hoping my sister takes much cuter pictures once they are hung.

9 Responses to “Birthday Stockings for Christmas”

  1. corieocookies October 29, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

    i love them!

  2. t-mom October 29, 2011 at 9:29 AM #

    Very nice!!!!!

  3. kail-lan October 29, 2011 at 11:27 AM #

    I love the stripes. You follow instructions like Butch.

  4. corieocookies October 29, 2011 at 2:25 PM #

    I was just noticing, you sew a lot of things for me, I must be your favorite!

    • elineuponline.com October 30, 2011 at 12:02 AM #

      ha…I was thinking the same thing. i need to start sewing for my kids now!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas in the House « corieocookies - December 16, 2011

    […] buying new ornaments.  I’m going with a new color theme this year because I need to match my stockings. […]

Leave a Reply

