Glass rocks and marbles

27 Oct

This have been REALLY busy around here.  You know how in December, you can’t really look at what you have going on the whole week because it’s all so overwhelming.  So, you just look 24 hours ahead.  I feel like we’re in that mode right now.  The other night I had a headache (still leftover from whatever virus or bacteria I have lingering inside me).  The hubby’s been really busy with work and church stuff lately, so no one was around (kids were sleeping…where she should have been!) to really give me the few minutes I needed to chill out.I bought all these glass rocks on clearance for about $0.25 a bag.  I didn’t have room to store them at the time that I bought them as we weren’t living in our home, but I couldn’t pass it up.  I bought a ton.  Although if I saw them again today, I’d but ten times as much.

I remembered them as I was thinking of what I could give her for a few minutes (don’t worry, she’s been around much smaller items and I’m very aware that this could be a choking hazard if I don’t watch her).  What a great buck fifty.  She had a great time moving them between the pan and the plastic container.  This is my “make a mess and destroy everything” girl, so I was pleasantly surprised that she didn’t fly these babies all over the place.At one point, she felt the need to wear gloves.  Go figure.This is a great free play activities for kids of all ages.  Probably adults too.  Lots of small motor exercise.  And if you don’t have a major headache, there’s a lot of counting and color interaction to be had.
She was happy.  I was happy.  It was great.

p.s.  For the record, all the noise of the rocks crashing into the pan didn’t bother me a bit.  It was a little therapeutic actually.

2 Responses to “Glass rocks and marbles”

  1. corieocookies October 28, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

    I was going to ask about the noise cause I’m sure if my tornado was playing with those she’d wake up her sleeping sib and drive me nuts.

Leave a Reply

