Pigs Love Potatoes…And Baked French Fries!

6 Sep

Today, we read the book, “Pigs Love Potatoes"".”  It’s a really fun counting book.  As we were reading, my son was starting to recognize the numbers in “words,” so that’s really exciting.  After we finished the book, we located Idaho on the map since that’s where lots of potatoes come from.  We put my good friend’s picture on there because she’s from Idaho.  I’m sure she’s thrilled to have her head on our wall :).

After that, we made some homemade baked fries.  He cleaned the potatoes and I let him peel one of them.  I wish I let him peel earlier, because he did such a great job.I found some recipes online and took a little of each to come up with our concoction.  First, I cut them all to look like “french fries.”Next, we put it in a huge bowl and added olive oil,paprika,salt,chili powder,pepper,and garlic powder.This is how it looks.Then, I had the chefs stir it all up.When we were finished, we decided that instead of running the oven twice, we’d just hold off until dinner time to cook it.  We baked it at 400 degrees at true convection (425 with standard baking) for about 20 minutes.  Really, I don’t measure if I don’t have to, so I just guessed how much to put in.  When you bake things, you can use a bit more seasoning that you normally would because they lose some of the taste in the bake (I learned that on the internet).  In keeping with my habits, I usually determine bake time by how it looks.  So, when it was a little golden, we pulled it out.I didn’t get a “final” picture because the hubby had to run off to a meeting so we were trying to hurry and get dinner on so we could eat before he left.  The kids loved it.  My oldest boy told me that it was much better than McDonalds because I put love in it.  He’s such a charmer.

Back to the lesson.  He was dying to use his new set of Prismacolor Colored Pencils"", so he did a “real life” drawing (and coloring) of a potato.  He noticed that it kind of has a “greenish” tone, so he put a lot of green in there.I thought it came out great.  It’s a simple drawing, but he thought it was so cool that his creation looked just like the real thing.  Sometimes, we get so in to the lesson that forget about the other little person.  She was hiding in the cupboard with her finger in a jar of Nutella!Never a dull moment.


3 Responses to “Pigs Love Potatoes…And Baked French Fries!”

  1. tmom September 7, 2011 at 10:32 AM #

    Clever connections!! you could put Grandpa Jess on Idaho, too.

    • emmieslineuponline September 7, 2011 at 3:29 PM #

      ooh. good idea.

  2. idaho spud September 7, 2011 at 12:39 PM #

    Yeah, that just made my day! Love the oven fries.

Leave a Reply

