My Poetry Girl

5 Sep

My daughter loves to sing songs.  She makes them up…often times as she goes.  She’s always writing funny jingles and I keep saying that I need to record her and take pictures of the stuff she writes.  Today, she sat at my computer and used Word for the first time on her own.  She was as giddy as a kid in a candy store.  She had me print it with my eyes closed so that I wouldn’t see it.  This is what she did and I love it!  It cracks me up every time I read it.  She gets it from her daddy.  He wrote me the funniest and most romantic poem when we were dating and it’s deep in a box somewhere.  I really want to find it.  She would love to read it.  Hope this makes you smile as big as I did.

6 Responses to “My Poetry Girl”

  1. eliza keating September 5, 2011 at 11:53 PM #

    She certainly has talent…my daughter is 8 and writes..she is a member of allpoetry a great website for adults and kids ..it gives them great feed back on their work..maybe your daughter would enjoy it too..ELiza Keating

    • emmieslineuponline September 6, 2011 at 11:05 PM #

      Wow! Sounds fun. She’s seven, so it would be perfect. Your book looks so fun. Reminds me of my daughter.

  2. beth September 6, 2011 at 8:13 AM #

    so whimsical. i like it 🙂
    marshall’s been having to critique poetry in his class, but it’s usually a little different subject matter. :O

  3. tmom September 6, 2011 at 4:34 PM #

    Good stuff!!

  4. kai-lan September 6, 2011 at 8:03 PM #

    I love the don’t be a piggy, but she still ate the most. It is very clever and thoughtful. Deeper than most of the raps and “Jahawaiian” (is that how you spell it?) stuff on the radio.

    • emmieslineuponline September 6, 2011 at 11:05 PM #

      yeah, the piggy line was my favorite.

Leave a Reply

