Learn Posts = Homeschool Posts

30 Aug

Well, if you haven’t figured it out yet, the new space I’m working on is for a kindergarten home school station.  I am home schooling my son for kindergarten.  It’s very common in Hawai’i to attend a private school.  The age cutoffs for private schools are different from the public schools.  So, if he went to public school, he would attend kindergarten, or at his age, Jr. Kindergarten.  My soap box on the Jr. K is a-whole-nother post which won’t ever happen.  Anyway, he will be testing for private school this year, so I decided that instead of sending him to public school, I would take a stab at home schooling.  I know it’s only been a couple of days, but I am totally excited and he’s an amazing student.  He just eats up everything I throw at him.  I love it so far.  Everyone always says, “we’ll see in a month.”  But I really think it’s going to be great.  He’s a part of an actual school, but they only check in twice a month.  In addition to testing and assessments, I am required to keep a portfolio of his progress.  I decided that I would use the “learn” section of this blog to maintain his portfolio.  It’s also a great way for me to document the lessons we are doing.  Hopefully those of you in the home school world find something useful around here.

2 Responses to “Learn Posts = Homeschool Posts”

  1. whatshappytoday August 30, 2011 at 7:48 AM #

    i bet you love it because your only student pays attention, & you don’t have to deal with the stink kids or the ones that pee their pants.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hop On Pop! « Today - August 30, 2011

    […] I mentioned in this post, I will be documenting our homeschool progress in the “learn” […]

Leave a Reply

