Hop On Pop!

30 Aug

As I mentioned in this post, I will be documenting our homeschool progress in the “learn” section.

Here’s what we did today. First, we read, “Hop on Pop""” by Dr. Seuss.  We briefly talked about what a list was and what purpose it served.  He explained to me that a list was “Like when I have to do my chores and I can’t remember what to do, I just look at the list and I know that I have to scrub the toilet and throw away the trash.”  I taught him how to number the items on his list.  Next, I had him write down all the words he remembered from the book.  Since it wasn’t a lesson on memory, I let him spend one minute looking through the book when he couldn’t remember any more after about 10 words.  This also provided information about how he writes his numbers, what numbers he knows, consistency with his letters and that I need to remind him to write lower case letters!!!!  I always stress to my kids that they need to spend more time writing in lower case because when you read, most letters you see are in lower case.  But, if you buy anything or see anything with an alphabet theme…it’s always in CAPS!  Why????Okay.  Back to the lesson.  Next, he selected five colored pencils.  I had him go through and circle by color, all the words that rhyme.  He didn’t do this part all on his own.  We had discussions as we went about why a certain word did or didn’t rhyme.Then, I drew out the graph you see here.  He graphed the number of rhyming words per color group.  I don’t know what I was thinking, but I shouldn’t have put a row of zeros.  It got confusing when he knew that there were only two words in a group, but there were three blocks to color.   On the same page, I just made notes about things he said that demonstrated knowledge or information regarding any of the concepts relating to the lesson.When we finished, he had “free play” with play doh.  After a while, I had him see what kind of patterns he could come up with, using the colors he had.  This is what he did.In order to keep the small person occupied, I gave her two colors to work with.  I only used two colors to reinforce color recognition.  I made this pattern and then I grouped them with her by color.I asked her to show me the blue.Then the orange.She figured out how the stamps worked and had a great time with them.  These tools are a Melissa & Doug set and I love them.Pictures are such an efficient way to document this stuff.

Just as we were finishing, her cousin came over to play!  They have a love-hate relationship, so getting this picture was great!  Usually, they are hugging because they are apologizing.

5 Responses to “Hop On Pop!”

  1. whatshappytoday August 30, 2011 at 7:47 AM #

    fun! could you come up with a grad linguistics curriculum?

    • kai-lan August 30, 2011 at 9:45 PM #

      I can. It involves hanging out at the beach and analyzing the pidgin of the surfers and other beach goers. We could make a chart and compare from beach to beach.

  2. tmom August 30, 2011 at 4:14 PM #

    Looks like a lot of learning!

  3. Elei August 31, 2011 at 12:32 AM #

    Yes! I would love too. You just have to do your part and move home.

  4. beth August 31, 2011 at 10:57 PM #

    ooooh that sounds fun. i guess that leaves me no choice!

Leave a Reply

