Love Note T-shirt With Bleach

25 Aug

Bleaching designs on to t-shirts is really popular right now thanks to the Clorox Bleach Gel Pen.  I decided I’d try it on a t-shirt for my daughter’s first day of school.  It has a thick and thin side.  I used the thin side to write my words.  I laid out the t-shirt with a bag in the middle to protect the back side.  If I had thought far enough ahead, I would have done both sides.  Oh well.  Anyway, You have to be careful because if the “mix” is not gel-like enough, you’ll get spurts of liquid-like bleach and bubbles.  Just look at the lower lines and you can tell.  If you write it pretty thick and keep shaking the pen to keep the mix from separating, writing is pretty easy.  I let it sit for about five minutes total.  You can tell I wrote from the bottom up because the bottom ones are whiter.  When you’re done, just rinse it well.  I laid mine flat in the sink and used my sprayer to get the bleach off really fast.  It reminded me of those commercials where they take the Tide and compare it to another “leading brand.”  They use the sprayer and when the detergent is removed, only the Tide side is clean.  It was really fun seeing the design come out.  At first, I worried that I didn’t let the top sit long enough, but after it went through the dryer, it really brightened up a lot.I think she’ll love it.  She always appreciates personalized sentiments like this.  It’s a great way to let her know all day long how much she’s loved!

6 Responses to “Love Note T-shirt With Bleach”

  1. tmom August 25, 2011 at 11:02 PM #

    turned out cute! We learned that a fresh bleach pen works way better than a little older one.

    • emmieslineuponline August 27, 2011 at 12:21 AM #

      yeah…kyra told me that. i had a fresh pen and once i dealt with the bubbles, i thought it was pretty easy to work with. i wanna do more!!!

  2. kai-lan August 26, 2011 at 11:29 PM #

    She can show this to those hater girls!!

    • emmieslineuponline August 27, 2011 at 12:21 AM #

      Haaaaaa! totally.

  3. Kathleen August 28, 2011 at 7:07 AM #

    Amazing! You, the t-shirt and the girl! ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back To School! « Today - August 26, 2011

    […] be at school again.This is going to be an amazing year.  I can tell!  By the way, she loves her new t-shirt […]

Leave a Reply

