Baby Soft Blocks and Tutorial Link

23 Aug

Today we celebrated my niece’s first birthday.  I’ve always wanted to sew soft blocks, but thought it would be complicated.  As I was digging through fabric to find something to make for her, I found a charm pack (pre-cut 5″ squares that includes one of each fabric in a line).I thought that since all the cutting work was done, it shouldn’t be too hard.  So, I went for it.  The fact that M-A-R-Y only has four letters kind of sealed the deal.I loosely followed this tutorial.  They were really fun to make and they whip up pretty quickly.

I don’t like how “round” they are.  I need to come up with a solution for that problem.  I’m thinking it’s going to take a lot more hand-stitching if I do this with firm square shaped foam because it’s going to require a big opening.  Any suggestions??I did generally work straight through.  This is what happens when you work straight through.She did manage to get a dish and feed herself a quality meal.Final tip:  If you don’t have fiberfill because you are “a quilter now” and only buy cotton batting by the roll, I got a great suggestion (thanks, mom) to use an old pillow for fill.

One Response to “Baby Soft Blocks and Tutorial Link”

  1. tmom August 25, 2011 at 10:59 PM #

    Good thing she has a short name!

Leave a Reply

