The Two Year Quilt

14 Aug

I started quilting about 2 1/2 years ago.  I got into it really quickly and love it.  I wish I had more time to do it.  I had these big plans to make a quilt for each of my new baby nieces and nephew.  I also wanted to make bed sized ones for each of my kids.  Well, I started this one for my niece’s first birthday.  (See her fabulous birthday post here).  Then, I was going to make one for my nephew who was born a couple of months later.  Then, three more nieces and my #4.  Well, my nieces first birthday came and went.  I finally finished it for her THIRD birthday.  I was hand sewing the binding right up until 5 minutes before her party.  I had lots of fun with this quilt.  It’s definitely one of my favorites.

I appreciate that my “quilt holder” wore matching slippers 🙂

Isn’t this huge ric-rac awesome! My sister likes cherries, so I thought this fabric would be fun.  It’s Mary Englebright’s, Recipe for Friendship.  The quilt design was inspired by Camille Rosekelley’s Bloom pattern.  I’m pretty sure, the other nieces and nephews won’t be getting quilts at this rate.  I think I better start sewing my Christmas things now!

8 Responses to “The Two Year Quilt”

  1. corieocookies August 15, 2011 at 6:14 AM #

    Like MY Christmas things?! : )-

  2. kai-lan August 15, 2011 at 8:45 AM #

    What??!! I already told Hali`a she was going to get one too;)

  3. beth August 15, 2011 at 4:55 PM #

    why didn’t you start with mine?

  4. emmieslineuponline August 15, 2011 at 7:21 PM #

    Oooh, you’re gonna sew Hali’a a quilt!!! I’m so excited. Beth, actually, WHEN you ever have a baby, I have all your wedding fabric.

  5. tmom August 15, 2011 at 7:50 PM #

    It came out beautiful!!! What talent!!

  6. beth August 16, 2011 at 7:20 AM #

    a BAby!? no, i mean for me. you could make it for a hypothetical baby, & i’ll use it so it gets soft & worn.

  7. Melissa Kaonohi- Camit August 22, 2011 at 8:18 AM #

    So cool ems! I love it:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Birthday Stockings for Christmas « elineuponline.com - October 29, 2011

    […] them in time for Christmas 2011.  This is the sister with the daughter who received the “Two Year Quilt,” I posted about here.  So, at least she kind of knows how I work.  She did get a bonus […]

Leave a Reply

