Sewing Bags – Link to Free Friendship Bag Tutorial

16 Jul

I love online tutorials.  They really have changed the way we sew.  There are many sewers out there who have never looked at a pattern before.  With online tutorials, the steps are usually very detailed and clear.  Most often, it’s full of great photos for each step.  Almost foolproof!  Instead of searching through pattern books at a fabric store with a number of underage children tugging at your jeans or running through bolts of fabric, you can just do an online search for what you need.  You can even email the person who created the tutorial with questions.  For free!  I love this tutorial.  I’ve altered it a little bit here and there for different things I’ve needed, but the general rules apply.

It’s called, The Friendship Bag.  It’s appropriate because I’ve made a bunch of these for friends.

These first few bags were for teacher gifts.  I used fun home decor fabric and added a pocket and magnetic closure.  I skipped the step to quilt it and I didn’t make a separate piece for the bottom.I was supposed to fill these bags with fresh produce.  Since I pulled an all-nighter to sew these, I ended up just enclosing a grocery store gift card.You can see I reinforced the corners/edges of the bag to help it hold its shape.I also adjusted the size of the bags and the straps.  This one is one of my favorites simply because of the shape it held.  It was inteneded to be a grocery bag, but the home decor fabric was so firm that it ended up looking like a large purse.This grocery bag does not have reinforced edges and is more like a real plastic grocery bag…easy to fit in a small compartment in your car. If I wasn’t so tired the night I made this, it would have been nice to put a pocket for cell phone and wallet.  Because the intention was to use it as a grocery bag, I used waterproof (PUL) fabric on the inside.  The same stuff used to sew washable diapers.These next few particular bags stayed pretty true to the tutorial.  I did adjust the size of it.  Something fun I like to do when I’m quilting is to quilt the name of the recipient within the random meandering.  Then, I tell them to find their name in the stitching.  If my external hard drive didn’t break tonight, I would have had a picture of that to show. Notice I ran the fabric strips horizontal on this one.  Then, I appliqued the initial. I love this bag because I’ve always wanted to use this polk-a-dot fabric.  It reminds me of the Baskin Robbins pink bubble gum ice cream.  This was for a sweet little girl’s baptism.  She needed to fit her scriptures in here and it needed to be pink.  And pink it is!  I put a colored pencil for marking scriptures and a pen and pencil.  The other pocket holds some stationary I made (that post coming soon) and I put a dollar in the other pocket.  My chinese grandma always taught us that you never gift a wallet or bag without putting some money in it, or it’s…you guessed it, BAD LUCK!  Grandma’s luck usually came in the form of something bigger than just $1.
For this one, I thought it would be fun to do a stitched monogram.  I didn’t really know what I was doing, but I like how it turned out.  I just stitched the ‘M’ on the square and then stitched the square to the bag.  I did back it with cotton batting.  This bag was for my grandma.  She likes pockets.  I really wish that I had made that square into a pocket.My good friend, Angie turned me on to this pattern a couple of years ago.  She actually made some of these darling bags with her kids.  I’ve come back to this tutorial many many times.  It’s easily my most useful bag tutorial.  Here’s the fabulous link at psIQUILT.  Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Sewing Bags – Link to Free Friendship Bag Tutorial”

  1. Kai-lan July 16, 2011 at 11:59 PM #

    I’m your friend, I didn’t get one. Love the costume that your model is wearing!!

    • emmieslineuponline July 17, 2011 at 12:17 AM #

      ha. that’s funny cause i tried to crop as much as i could because of the costume.

  2. tmom July 17, 2011 at 1:28 PM #

    Wow you’ve made a ton of bags!!!!

  3. idaho spud July 18, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    I’M FAMOUS! I got mentioned on your blog. The bags are awesome.

Leave a Reply

