40 Years of Marriage For My Mom and Dad

15 Jul

To celebrate my parent’s 40th year of Marriage, the big plans 15 years ago of buying a boat or a car got pushed back about another 10 years.  You think with eight kids, we could pull it off.  Instead, they had to settle for a little party with their posterity.  My party planning sisters were in charge and with everyone combined, this is what we ended up with.

My mom’s colors for her wedding were yellow, so we (my sisters) tried to stick with that.  The kids lined the ground with chalk love notes.
  The guests of honor.  TThe girls did a good job of playing up the yellow.  My parents also had daisies at their wedding.  I love how my sister did those cute lemonade bottles.  We had lots of fabulous food. 


It’s really great having a pastry chef in the family.  My parents were married in the Los Angeles temple in California, so they had chocolate covered macadamia nuts at their reception to bring a little bit of Hawai’i to their reception.  The kids had a great time just being together.


  At the end of the party, the teenage cousins put together a short video in pictures of their life together. The kids couldn’t resist the “shadow fun.” Then they watched a video while the grown ups got to hang out and clean up.Apparently I was taking pictures, so I didn’t do much clean up!
  This is the product of 40 years of marriage, 8 kids, 20 grand kids and growing.  Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad!



5 Responses to “40 Years of Marriage For My Mom and Dad”

  1. tmom July 15, 2011 at 8:51 PM #

    Thank you to you and all your siblings for another wonderful memory. You guys are the frosting and the filling of 40 tiered cake. Love you all so much-It was a very special evening.

  2. idaho spud July 16, 2011 at 4:14 PM #

    Looks like so much fun and makes me want to have more kids so I can have a fun HUGE family like this someday.

    • emmieslineuponline July 16, 2011 at 10:13 PM #

      you’re half way there!

  3. Kai-lan July 16, 2011 at 11:02 PM #

    Great, I look like I’m making a stink face at Grandma.

    • emmieslineuponline July 16, 2011 at 11:48 PM #

      haha, that’s funny! I didn’t notice that! It would be fun to put thought bubbles above your head 🙂

Leave a Reply

