Purse for the Birthday Girl…and a free tutorial

12 Jul


So, after last night’s post, I did manage to finish the purse on time for my nieces birthday.  I’ve always wanted to try this pattern, but I never got around to it.  It was super fast and super easy!  I can’t wait to do another one.  I did use silky fabric which is a no-no for me.  It’s so slippery to work with.  But, I love this print and I really wanted to use it.  So, fashion won over function.  Follow this link to the awesome free tutorial (Were you thinking I made the tutorial???).


don’t look too close at the stitching.  It was really late.  And the party was a fun Asian theme.  It was also a “girls only” party.This dress didn’t stay on for more than about two minutes.  Here’s the birthday girl.  Chinese acrobatic servers! or Birthday Girl’s Sister Food was yummy!  The party was at the same location as last night’s party,  How convenient.  Just a costume change.

2 Responses to “Purse for the Birthday Girl…and a free tutorial”

  1. tmom July 12, 2011 at 10:55 PM #

    Cute pictures! The purse came out great.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gifts I Made This Christmas: Toddler Backpack « elineuponline.com - January 6, 2012

    […] Being that we had a Dora obsession in our home, it was almost too perfect that Dora’s main accessory is, “Backpack! Backpack!“  So, My youngest got “Backpack!” for Christmas.  Thankfully, my she loves it at least as much as I’d hoped.  She takes it everywhere and even woke up two mornings shouting, “Where’s Backpack?!”  Here’s Backpack! (You have to use “!” because my sister-in-law pointed out to me that Dora “yells at you.”  I can’t listen to Dora anymore without feeling like she’s yelling at me.)I have to say, it was maybe the most fun project that I did.  And being that it was my second run on this pattern in a week, it went really quickly.  Thank goodness because I finished it at about 3am on 12/25!  Later I’ll post what I was doing from 3am to 4am.   I found the best face I could off of an image search and just used my light table to create the applique pieces.Did I mention that I absolutely loved this pattern?  It was the first time I’ve ever used piping and now I want to put it on everything!!  I purchased this pattern from Made-by-Rae.  Click HERE for a link to her pattern.  She also created the free pattern to the purse I talked about in this post. […]

Leave a Reply

