Picky Eater?

5 Jul

Not that kind of “picky” eater!I’ve never had a picky eater.  My kids pretty much eat and enjoy (my grandma taught me not to LOVE your food…only to ENJOY it…we LOVE people) anything edible.  I couldn’t understand all this “picky eater” business.  Until #4.  What a pain in the rear!  Some days you just let them eat whatever they want so that they get food in their bodies.  Other days, you remember that if you don’t give them exactly what they want, they won’t starve…and eventually they’ll eat.  I’ve gone some days where she just eats snacks.  And then the next day I’m trying to make up for it, so I give her eggs with every meal.  Well, I’ve recently discovered that she’ll do almost anything…if it comes on a toothpick!

Here, I started with just the ham.  Then, I added the raisin and cheese.  She sat and ate about two dozen of these.  It is super easy to prepare.  I actually ended up just giving her only about six at a time because I didn’t want to waste any of it.  So, I just re-loaded the toothpicks between feedings.

See, she did great with the toothpicks!

Today, I’m going to take leftover chicken and cut them in to squares with little chunks of cheese.  She doesn’t do milk (another weird phenomenon!), so I’m always giving her cheese.Not sure if there’s a correlation, but for the most part, I didn’t give my first three sweets until they were at least a year.  This little girl pretty much got whatever she wanted thanks to her older sibs.  I wonder if that has something to do with her being picky.

Do you have a picky eater?  Any suggestions?

3 Responses to “Picky Eater?”

  1. corieocookies July 6, 2011 at 12:59 PM #

    I did skewers and started putting everything on them. Unfortunately MyBelle believes in moderation in all things, so she got over it fast. If she sees a carrot on TV, no matter who’s eating it, she’ll ask for carrots, maybe you can photo shop some Elmo drinking milk pics!

  2. Traci July 7, 2011 at 7:57 AM #

    good idea! Food “to go” and fun to eat seems to be the requirement for picky eaters.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Covered Macadamia Nuts & Picky Eaters « Today - August 13, 2011

    […] when I talked about my picky eater?  Well, I’ve found another thing that seems to work. This is packaging from the boxes of […]

Leave a Reply

