Tilex on your clothes?

30 Jun


Tilex gets it white!  I’ve just never had good luck with bleach.  It seems when I let things soak in bleach, not much happens.  One day I was cleaning my sink.  I sprayed Tilex.  Apparently, I leaned up against the counter because I had a solid white line on my navy blue t-shirt.  So, I thought…if it took the ink out of that shirt that fast, why not try it on something else.  Thankfully, in my home, it didn’t take long before I had something to work with.  I took my daughter’s t-shirt.  She just had a smoothy (her shirt got some too) with mixed berries, so it was dark purple.  It was all over her.  Her t-shirt was a light yellow and not white.  I figured a lighter yellow was better than berries, so I shot away with the Tilex.  Instantly…within seconds, the color of the stains faded.  I don’t know about you, but my bleach never did that for me!  So…I started going to the Tilex for LOTS of other things.  It gets mildew (you know the ugly gray spots…if you live in Hawai’i, you know what I’m talking about) really fast!

And just to prove it…here we go.  This is a 100% cotton fabric.  Left to right, Teriyaki Sauce, Prego and Orange Juice concentrate (the frozen can).

To be fair, I did wash it before spraying so that you can see where the difference lies.  I didn’t let it dry.  If you are working with a dry piece of fabric, the results seem to come quicker.  I guess because it’s not watered down.  This is after the wash.

After 15 seconds.

One Minute.


Two minutes

And finally, after three minutes and a quick rinse.  Isn’t this great?!  It gets me every time.

Some things you should know if using Tilex on your clothes:

-Always use a test area first…if it’s strong enough to change colors before your eyes, I’m sure it could destroy a garment if not careful.

-Don’t spray too close or your “tilex stain” will be obvious.  At least 10″ away when you spray.  I’ve sprayed an entire garment a few times just to “even it out.”

-Works best on white, but multi-colored clothing with white in it or light/pastel shades do okay too.

-Screen printed shirts or shirts with embellishments do great.  The Tilex doesn’t bother the printing and the embellishments are usually pretty resistant because of the materials used.

-Do not let it sit like you would bleach.  Again…this stuff is strong, so as soon as I see the stain clear up, I rinse it with water.

-Sometimes it takes more than once.

-You can use it on clothing that’s already been washed and dried (old stains).

It’s not perfect on everything, but it has done a few miracle fixes for me that make it worth while.

It’s definitely NOT organic…and it’s full of chemicals!  So keep that in mind when deciding what’s best for your family 🙂

3 Responses to “Tilex on your clothes?”

  1. hotchie mama June 30, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

    now THIS is the kine blogs I like, very informative:). Let me know if it’ll work on car grease…that’s the only stains my “big” kid comes home with.

  2. idaho spud June 30, 2011 at 9:09 PM #

    Emmie, your blog is amazing awesome and oh so cute! And the best part – the pictures! I need some photo tips or maybe I should just read my manual. Thanks for letting me read. I’m totally gonna try the tilex.

  3. Charlie July 27, 2011 at 5:35 AM #

    Great tip! Where was this tip when I had serious mildew issues with my chairs?! 😉

Leave a Reply

