Review: Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for Little Ones

27 Jun


My Friend Melissa is super thoughtful.  So thoughtful that when she saw this book, she thought of me and grabbed me a copy.  I’ve always wanted this book…mainly for the diaper bag pattern.  But I couldn’t justify the price tag.  Thanks to Melissa, you really can’t beat FREE!!!

This cover alone makes you want to open this thing up and start sewing!

This envelope on the inside cover holds all the patterns.  Very handy dandy!

I’m just dying to sew the diaper bag.  It’s so perfect…so stylish and definitely usable after diapers and bottles.

Aren’t these blocks adorable?  I’m thinking that by the time I get to these, I’ll have to fill them with sand (or rice) as my kids will be old enough to want them as bean bags.  Having these darling babies as models makes all these outfits and accessories enticing.Here’s an example of the diagrams used in place of actual photos.  Many of the patterns don’t have any diagrams and most just have a couple.  Also, notice the nice spiral binding to this hard cover package.

I love the practicality and cool-ness of this diaper changing station.

I am currently working on this little book.  This project requires the use of printable fabric paper.  The fabric paper suggested does not come cheap.  I found this super cool tutorial online for creating your own fabric paper using freezer paper.  Someone suggested soaking your fabric with a borax mixture (5 gal water, 1 C borax) as it will release a lot of the fabric agents making it easier to take the ink and make it more permanent.  I also considered just stitching regular photos instead of fabric for this one.


Bed Bugs!  The name alone makes you want to create these.  I have no use for these and my kids would probably never play with them.  I wonder what it took to get this baby to look like she is enjoying them.  But aren’t they cute?  Don’t you want to make them?  Just because!
I love the stitching in the ditch-ing on this quilt.  And that laundry bag!  Wouldn’t it be fun to take that bag grocery shopping?!My final say…

I love all the great pics that this book has to offer.  The pictures alone are inspiring and make you want to whip up these heirloom-ish baby things.  That being said, most of the pics included will not help you when actually sewing the item together.  The author uses diagrams.  I think she probably could have at least doubled the amount of diagrams in the book and it would have made the book more accessible to sewers on any level.  If you don’t have sewing experience, you may find yourself frustrated with a variety of patterns.  On the other hand, if you do have sewing experience, you will probably be improvising with techniques that you already use to accomplish the specific task.  You might even eliminate some steps.

I would recommend taking her patterns and drawing/copying them and reading through the instructions at least once…possibly twice.  There are a few instances where she calls for more fabric or materials than you really need.  She also uses a wide variety of materials (i.e., different types of interfacing).  This can crank up the cost of your overall project…sometimes making it less expensive to just purchase the item.  On the other hand, all her items are VERY well made.  They are all of very high quality when complete.  Definitely high-end boutique worthy.

For me, I would’ve definitely purchased this book had I viewed it this in depth before it was gifted to me.  There are so many unique ideas in here I just wish I had more time to do them.  If you are used to sewing with online tutorials (there are a number of us in the blog world who do that), you may have to adjust for the lack of detail and pictures for each step.  Anyone receiving any of these gifts will definitely appreciate it (except maybe those darling bed bugs).

3 Responses to “Review: Amy Butler’s Little Stitches for Little Ones”

  1. corieocookies June 28, 2011 at 2:00 PM #

    I’m sold! I’ll take one diaper bag and throw those blocks in it for me too. Something similar to the picture, unisex colors so if I have boys later they can play with them too. Hee hee!

  2. Kailani June 29, 2011 at 11:54 AM #

    Me too, me too!! K, Corie did cooking day. Let’s do sewing day. Me and Traci may need a little more help than others so maybe we should come early. I want to do the diaper bag. Is that a good beginner project?

  3. hotchie mama June 30, 2011 at 1:25 PM #

    since orders are being posted, I’ll take a kimono…4T please. aww…I thought the bed bugs were cute!

    Okay, so when’s the sewing day?

Leave a Reply

